Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. Do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Currently, the air contamination and traffic problems have become a big concern for many countries. Some individuals believe that raising the oil price can relieve these issues. I do not agree with this idea, as it cannot effectively address these problems.

There is no doubt that private car use is one of the main causes of the rising traffic jam and air contamination. However, higher fuel expense is less likely to limit the number of cars. As this suggestion will also affect the public transport expenditure, and it will be very unpopular with those who need travel on the road daily. But there are various approaches that can be performed in order to solve these problems.

Obviously, there are numerous ways to solve traffic congestions and pollution. First of all, current train system requires to be innovated. There is an increasing number of commuters relocate to rural areas, where houses are more affordable. If governments built more railroads between rural areas and town center, it would significantly decrease carbon dioxide emissions and the number of automobiles on the road. Furthermore, adding more bus schedules can reduce traffic at peak hours. For instance, in Auckland residents used to drive their own cars to go to work, as there were few bus services. Now based on the latest statistics from Auckland City Council, after increasing bus schedules traffic jams decreased noticeably during rush hours. A further point always raised is that driving new energy cars, like Tesla, are able to greatly decrease car exhaust. Convincing manufacturers and consumers to accept this new technology will be a more effective strategy for improving air quality.

To conclude, I would like to embrace the idea that if we just simply raise oil price, traffic and contamination issues cannot be addressed, instead it may cause other problems. There are a lot of other methods that we can adopt to deal with such issues.