In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about it?

It is true that agricultural skills have been advanced significantly. However, a lot of individuals today are still suffering from hunger. In this essay, I will analyze the reasons, and propose some solutions.

Obviously, there are various factors causing the starving people around the globe. First of all, some countries, especially developing countries, invest few funds on agricultural science. Instead, they provide sufficient financial supports to some industries that can generate profits in a short time, such as mining industry. Thus, the local farmers cannot receive the latest crops knowledge and tools, which may cause food price rise. As a result, those who come from impoverished family cannot afford the expensive food. Another cause always raised is that the natural catastrophe can bring about food shortage. Based on a report from University of Auckland, many countries have been threatened by rising sea level. If these countries are flooded, the farmlands will be damaged. If this were the case, then plenty of people would have to face food undersupply.

Fortunately, there are some actions can be taken to increase food supply. To start with, some international organizations, such as APEC and Red Cross, should not only provide free food, but also offer agricultural knowledge. It is the knowledge that always be viewed as the most effective strategy to improve food supply. In addition, local governments should introduce new laws to solve hunger. For example, the farming tax or food tax should be exempted, which is believed as a shortcut to decrease food price.

To conclude, even though agricultural technology has progressed in many areas, there are still numerous individuals facing the starvation issue. Hence, governments should take steps to relieve hunger.