Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that in today’s world, subject like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Currently, there are many individuals claim that school discipline History is not as important as before, instead courses related to Science and Technology are more useful in contemporary school system.

It is true that students can be benefited from learning History. First of all, by reading history articles students are able to deepen understanding for their country’s culture, economy and history background. If History course was cancelled from school syllabus, one would have insufficient knowledge about national identity and cultural heritage. Another point always raised is that History is still one of the most important subjects in tertiary education system. As it is the prerequisite for many courses in university, without it one cannot select higher level courses. Besides that, in some countries the completion of History is the key factor to apply for university. As it is viewed as a fundamental discipline, without it students will not receive university admission letter.

On the other hand, there are plenty of voices consider that the strengths of scientific courses surpass History’s advantages. Based on a report from University of Auckland, in 21st Century the technology industry is the fastest growing field around the globe. Graduates with technical skill, such as data analysis and software development, will have better employability in job market. In addition, technology can facilitate our society. For instance, we used to write letter to contact with each other. Now with the invention of Email and cellphone, people can communicate with others who are in different places.

To sum up, I would like to embrace the point of view that setting up History as a mandatory course in primary schools and high schools, as young students need to know more about their countries, while in college young adults will be encouraged to opt for science courses in order to be competitive in workplace.