Some people think that we can use animals in any way for the benefits of human beings. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Currently there are a lot of individuals claim that mankind is able to take advantage of animals as long as it can be beneficial for human society. But I fully do not agree with this viewpoint.

It is true that our society can be benefited from using animals in varied fields. To start with, medical research with animals is able to stimulate medical advancement. For instance, many scientists prefer to use animals, including monkey and rat, to test new developed medications. As it is generally believed that such animals’ body structures are very similar to human’s, which can help people to observe medication’s effect. Another point always raised is that some kinds of animals can work for us. Guide dog can be taken as an example. Such dog cannot only guide the blind to go through streets safely, but also provides emotional supports. Hence, such animals can be advantageous for our society.

In spite of these statements given above, there are various reasons for us to respect animals ‘rights. First of all, it violates moral codes to raise animals, including chickens and ducks, in a small space. In order to save space and gain the most profits, some farms place these poultry in a small room, which is a torture for them. Furthermore, some rare species requires to be preserved rather than being traded for benefits. Rare animal products, such as tiger fur and ivory, should be banned for trading. Because such animals are the key members of nature chain, if they were extinct then the whole ecosystem would be impacted.

To sum up, I would like to embrace the idea that respect of animals is the prerequisite of using animals, and for some rare ones we need legislate to protect them.