Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

It is true that in many countries the market share of foreign movies is bigger than domestically produced films. I think there are a lot of reasons why this is the case. In my opinion, governments should promote local film-making by subsidizing this industry.

There are various reasons why many people find foreign films more enjoyable than the films produced in their own countries. First of all, the established film industries in certain countries have huge budgets for action and special effects. Hollywood blockbuster like “Avatar “or James Bond films are the examples of such production, and their global appeal is undeniable. Another reason why foreign film is so successful is that they often invite famous actors and actresses, and they are made by most accomplished producers and directors.

From my perspective, governments should support local film industries financially. In every country, there may be talented film-makers who just need to be given opportunity to prove themselves. To compete with big-budget productions from overseas, they need funds to pay for film crews, actors and other expenses related to producing high-quality films. If governments did help with these expenditures, they would see an increase in employment in the film industry, and perhaps even a rise in tourist numbers. New Zealand, for instance, has seen an increase in tourism related to the Lord of the Rings films.

To conclude, I believe that the increased financial aids can raise the quality of locally made films and allow them to compete with the foreign productions that currently dominate the market.