Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. Do you agree or disagree? Any other measures do you think might be effective?

Currently, there are some people argue that the ideal method to relieve traffic pressure and air contamination is to raise oil price. From my perspective, I oppose this viewpoint, as it is not an effective method to address such problems.

There is no doubt that the private vehicle is the main factor to cause traffic and air pollution. However, the increased oil price is less likely to limit the number of motor vehicles on the road. Because such method will also raise the public transportation expense, such as bus and ferry. As a result, it will be unpopular with those who travel such transports.

Fortunately, there are various effective ways to solve these issues. First of all, it is the railway system that requires to be invested with more funds. There is an increasing number of commuters living rural areas. If governments build more railroads between such areas and urban areas, it will significantly reduce carbon dioxide emissions, which means the air quality will be improved. In addition, the bus services should be added, as it can obviously decrease the number of automobiles at peak hours. For example, in Auckland local residents used to drive to go to work since there were few bus services. By contrast, based on the latest report from Auckland City Council after adding more bus schedules the traffic congestions have been reduced greatly. Another point always raised is that governments should cut tax to promote the green energy cars, like Tesla. Because such car is zero emission and eco-friendly car. Therefore, if customers can accept these cars, it will be a wise option to decrease atmosphere pollution.

To conclude, as can be seen that just simply raised the fuel price cannot tackle the traffic jam and air pollution. Instead, there are plenty of actions that we can take to solve them.