Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic and pollution are the major problematic fields that are discussed almost universally nowadays. A plethora of solutions have been already proposed on this issue and some of them offer the increasing cost of petrol as a way to cut down the traffic jams and environmental pollution consequently. But whether this solution is effective or not is a debate. By the way, I reckon that with the advent of technology people are able to cope with these problems using other sources of fuel: wind, solar and hydro powers.

On the one hand, it is of note, that social-psychological laws force people to stick to that statement: the higher cost leads to a considerable decrease in the customers’ demand. Therefore, the increasing price of petrol will inevitably lead to a reduction of drivers on the roads by the obvious reasons such as inability to fill their tanks and reasonable utilization of personal financial resources. Insequent, the number of people who use the public vehicles would tremendously grow up. However, the petrol cost augmentation would cause the rise in transportation cost for services from various backgrounds. The price for delivery of products would be increased significantly and it will have the majority of detrimental effects on our economy overall.

Alongside the tangible effect on the economy, the fast-paced advancements will provide people with the opportunity to use more environmentally friendly sources of energy. The more sustainable sources of fuel like wind, water, and solar powers will reduce the carbon dioxide emission to the atmosphere, which, in order, curb the escalating pollution. In addition, the universal transition of all means of vehicles on another kind of fuel will enhance the reduction in driving fare, what influences the number of people opting for traveling on eco-friendly buses and trams. For instance, the mass rapid train in China and Japan as a sophisticated transport and well-managed train schedule has successfully brought up these countries in lessening traffic problem.

To conclude, I believe, that, nowadays, not all ways of struggling with the overwhelming traffic and nature’s pollution are quite beneficial as it was proved upon. The dramatic increase in petrol price would have a more detrimental effect and people woes rather than changes for betterment. The government is worth thinking to invest in the evolvement of other sources of fuel and energy, which cause less traffic congestion and air pollution.