Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measure do you think might be effective?

It is often thought that a rise in the price of petrol is the most effective method of solving the increasing traffic and pollution issues. I completely agree with this statement because of the contribution of petrol in pollution these days.

One the one hand, petrol is an essential component which makes people’s transportation easier. However, it has some huge demerits too. Because of the low price of petrol, people are more likely to travel on their personal vehicles which are mostly responsible for the current environmental deterioration and congestion on road. For instance, If the petrol becomes more costly, people will intend to travel with public transports instead of using their own motorized vehicles. This will result in lower-traffic because the number of vehicles would dramatically reduce. Moreover, the gases which are emitted from the cars would also get lowered as a consequence of the reduced using of personal vehicles. Therefore, an increase in the price of petrol is an effective way to solve these issues.

There are a lot more things to apply in order to ensure the problem being solved. Firstly, routes for heavy vehicles and small vehicles should be divided and a strict government order should be imposed. As a result, the number of vehicles running on a particular road would decrease and the congestion would get reduced correspondingly. Turning to the pollution fact, it can only be sorted out by standing against deforestation. There should be a tree plantation event to take place every month which will force the population to plant trees more and more and as a result, the pollution would start reducing because the trees contribute the most to keep our atmosphere clean and balanced.

To conclude, only a rise in petrol price alone can result in lower traffic and pollution. If these observations are considered and steps are taken properly, there is no doubt that the people can be optimistic of getting a healthier environment along with a reduction of congestion on the roads.