Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement What other measures do you think might be effective Give reasons for your answer and include an

It is very unfortunate that traffic and pollution are readily increasing but by raising the price of petrol is the best measure to solve this problem. I do not agree with they give with this statement

Firstly, from the last years the price of petrol is increasing day by day, but despite of being decrease in the number of vehicles, there is a continuous increase in vehicles on the road. So, this method is not effective in controlling the traffic and pollution. Secondary, in developing countries only rich people can afford vehicles and high price of petrol will not affect them thus, this method will not affect this burning problem.

To solve this problem, there are several measures which can be implied. Foremost and the long term effective, measures to control traffic is to encourage people to use public transport for travelling as pollution and traffic mostly rise due to the large number of private vehicles and this method will reduce the number of vehicles. Thereby, this result in in lowering of traffic. Besides this, problem can be solved by motivating people to use bicycles and footpath for walking instead of cars for short distance. At the end, we can drop this problem by not providing sufficient parking facilities as if people do not have area for parking they will not considered to use vehicles. So these measures will help to eliminate pollution and traffic.

All in all, this problem can be solved by only implications of strict rules and also by awaring people, not by making the proce of petrol high.