Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What are ther other measures do you think might be effective?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples of your own knowledge and experience.

Write atleast 250 words.

The problems, which are increasing day by day in most of the metropolitan cities, are traffic congestion and pollution. Increasing the rates of petrol might be one of the solutions, but not the best way to deal with the problem. Therefore, I strongly oppose the idea as there other aspects too. These should be considered as well, if we want to abate the effects, which we face, due to traffic and pollution. In this essay, we'll discuss other important measures to alleviate the problems.

Modern advancements have positive effects on various aspects including public transport. Minimizing the use of private vehicles by increasing the use of public transport, can be another important aspect that should be taken into consideration. This will make sure that fewer cars or other private vehicles will be on the roads reducing the traffic jams and hence resulting in lesser emissions of carbon-di-oxide into the environment. For instance, if four people make an uber pool then the fuel required is lesser in amount as compared to the separate four private vehicles. In this way, we can help decrease the traffic congestion issue, thereby reducing the pollution.

Furthermore, imposing strict traffic rules can be another way out. Government should taken initiative and apply strict regulations and can impose an extortionate fine on those who do not follow them religiously. This will ensure that people are aware of the rules and regulations and then only they are getting their vehicles on road. For instance, in Delhi, there are signals on each main road, and rules are imposed. Due to this, the traffic was under control and there were only a required number of private vehicles on road. Hence only increasing the price of fuel won't lead to a decrease in the problem. Because people may find illegal ways to get petrol and other required fuels.

Hereby, I conclude, increasing-prices of petrol is one of the important aspects, which will help in abating these problems but not the best and only way to do so. Other important measures should also be taken into considerations if we want to decrease the impacts of such problems on our lives and environment.