Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems To what extent do you agree or disagree What other measures do you think might be effective

Nowadays, road traffic and environmental pollution are significant issues and authorities are going to implement various options to control those by increasing the cost of petrol.

Evidently, most of the individuals have moved to private vehicles and usage of cars and motorcycles are recently increased with population. That become a huge reason for traffic and air pollution since most people are use their own transports specially when peak times to report to the workplace. As example, in Singapore, offices start time is around 0800 to 0900 so all office workers have to travel at same time to report to the work. If they use cars instead of public transport, definitely it can be the reasoned for traffic and fuel will be the reasoned for air pollution.

However, there are various solutions can apply for those issues. Such as new tax policies, increase the price of car permits, import electric vehicles and upgrade the quality of public transport services. As the first example, introduce a new tax scheme for private transportation. It helps to demotivate people to buy new cars or motorcycles. The second example is, identify the issues and increase the facilities of public transport and apply a reasonable ticket price. The main reason to reject the public services is, it is stopped at every bus stations and may be late to report to the workplace. Government can arrange special bus service at work times and office workers should be the target passengers.

In conclusion, my point of view, in order to control the traffic and minimize the air pollution, apply a high rate of cost to the petrol is a one success method while improving the public transportation.