Increasing the price of petrol is best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic cognestion and pollution are the growing issues for most of the countries. Some advocates believe that the best way to reduce this problem could be maximizing price of petrol. However, in my opinion, I fully disagree to this view and even believe, replacing old vechiles as well as encouraging use of public transportation would help a lot in eliminating these problem.

Firstly, the rise of petrol price would hamper a lot in the enocomy of the country. The cost of transporting goods across the country will be high and eventually, there will be inflation in market for every commodity. Thus, in order to eradicate traffic issues, it would be better idea to consider replacing old vechiles. These old vechiles pollutes air, water and soil because they take out more nitrous oxide . For instance; decreased ozone layer and acid rain is one of the major consequence of using old vechile. Therefore, rather than increasing price of petrol, people should be encouraged to replace old vechile. For that, government can bring various scheme for exchanging and buying new vechiles.

On the other hand, traffic problem can only be reduced if people use more public transportation rather than purchasing their own vechile. There is an increasing car ownership all over the world because of its cheap price. When people travel through public vechile, around 500-800 people can reach their destiny with single vechile but when those people use individual car then there will be traffic crowd. Easy accessible to station and cheap bus fare would help public to use local buses and trains. However, people doesnot feel comfortable travelling in overcrowded bus. Thus, government must faciliate more public transport with cheap fare and attractive facilities in order to reduce traffic problem.

To sum up, increased petrol price cannot bring control over traffic and pollution but would negatively effect economy of a country. Using new vechile and public vechile would help a lot in minimizing this problem. I think, government must work on faciliating service in these area for eliminating traffic and pollution in their country.