Increasing the price of petrol is the solution to the traffic and air pollution problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Issues of congestion and pollution in cities have been widely discussed.Accroding to some, imposing higher tariffs on fossil fuel is the most effective solution to the problem of traffic and air pollution. In my opinion, I completely agree to this argument as an increase in the price of petrol will cut the demand for petrol; moreover, the government will generate enough revenue to support other useful interventions.

Petrol, which is for both domestic and industrial purposes, is highly responsive to price changes. Therefore, if the managers, who have the statutory authority over the cost of fuel, impose higher taxes on the commodity, there will be a multiplier effect on the number of auto-mobiles that ply city roads, thus, the number will overwhelmingly cut as most citizens will opt for other affordable means of transport, such as car-pooling and public transport. Consequently, the amount of toxic chemicals emitted from vehicles will drastically reduce, as well as free flow of vehicular and pedestrian traffic.

In furtherance, the revenue accumulated by policy makers from such a move will help other essential areas with respect to easing traffic and improving the environment. To further explain, governments can invest the financial gains in transport infrastructural expansion, such as underground roads and lanes, over-ground interchanges and modern bridges, which help motorists to navigate effortlessly. In addition, another real angle is public education. In other words, the citizenry need education on the need to use environmentally friendly means of transport, such as car-pooling, walking, cycling and public transport for the day-to-day activities. This cannot be done without financial resources; hence, the state can make good use of the extra revenue in such venture.

In conclusion, the congestion and air pollution in major cities and towns cannot be denied; nonetheless, I strongly agree that adjusting the cost of petroleum higher is the best way to tackle this problem.