In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

The relation between gender and their subjects of study has been widely discussed. Globally, it is not uncommon for females to read humanities whereas their counterparts study science based courses. This essay discusses the course structure and future professional competence as the catalysts for this development. In my opinion, it is needless to reverse this phenomenon as students have the freedom to choose their respective courses of study; moreover, this trend motivates the younger generation.

Undeniably, there is gender segregation in the educational front, secondary and tertiary levels alike. Firstly, the structural composition of the courses is a principal reason behind this. To further explain, science subjects are known for abstract and critical thinking. As such, boys, who are genetically endowed with these abilities, naturally gravitate to these courses, such as chemistry and physics. Girls, on the other hand are naturally meek and inclined to non-abstract situation; hence they automatically have affection for arts and social subjects, seemingly correlate with their make-up. Additionally, it is practically true that while women excel in areas of social care, men display competence in technological fields; so, students are motivated to select study areas that will guarantee their future professional excellence.

In my view, there is no practical merit in altering this development. To begin with, ones choice of study is a fundamental human right as study courses have bearing on capabilities as well as future goals. Therefore, any act of reversing this phenomenon will not only amount to infringing upon their basic rights, but also fading their talents and future aspirations.

In furtherance, the young ones imitate the foot-steps of the older generation who have distinguished themselves on their respective fields. This form of motivation has a positive correlation with gender roles; hence this trend must ensue.

In conclusion, the pattern of choice with respect to gender and studies cannot be denied as this is heavily influenced by the make-up of the courses and future roles. In my view, it is needful for this trend to continue to protect rights and motivate students.