Nowadays many countries have very cosmopolitan cities with people from all over the world. How can the government ensure that all these people can live together harmoniously?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Undeniably, there are influxes of people from all walks of life in many urban areas globally. Analysing statutory enactments by policy makers with respect to culture, education as employment as measures that will result in harmonious coöperation among residents.

To begin with, state managers, who have the legal authority to make laws, must make sure that the traditions and customs of others are respected by providing legal guidance. To further explain, in as much as host nations consider it right for their customs to be valued by outsiders, it is equally significant that the culture of immigrants is upheld as long as it does not infringe upon the fundamental laws of the said state. In U.S.A, a law recently passed acknowledges other non-native customs; so, residents, native and migrants alike live in peace.

In addition, a similar legal provision should be directed at the labour industry. Thus, foreigners can be given equal access to employment, as well as their deserved conditions of service. Regrettably, many expatriates are over exploited by their employers in the Middle East due to the absence of such statutory provision. Accordingly, sensitive employment sectors, such as top security and financial portfolios must be reserved for the native citizens to avert any form of security and financial breaches. The civil unrest in South Africa due to these reasons is a clear example.

Finally, In order for outsiders to fit properly and be accepted by the local residents, they need to be educated on the rules of engagement with respect to cultural values and traditions of the host country. If governments make education free for foreigners, they will adjust to the local customs with ease, especially in relation to language acquisition. As a result, they will be no marked differences between locals and outsiders in their day-to-day activities and peaceful interactions.

In conclusion, the rate at which cities are growing cosmopolitan appear unprecedented; nonetheless, state managers can make clear rules backed by legislation with respect to cultural tolerance, job acquisition and education to make sure a peaceful co-existence.