In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

Many argue that most of the art courses are occupied by women and most of the men choose the sciences at the schools and high-level education. From my perspective, several reasons could explain this tendency and may need some changes.

There are two main causes responsible for the difference in subject selections between boys and girls. Firstly, many scientists amused this selective trend is the basic distinction in the working of the human brain between the two genders. To specify, it has been proved that there are subtle differences in the mental makeup and working capacity of the male and female brain. Girls have performed better in subjects like arts because of their increased capacity to memorize facts and data. On the other hand, the male brain is one-dimensional and has more focus power than their female counterpart. While today with some brain training could gain equalise both genders. Secondly, the traditional belief is another contributing factor deciding that divergence, especially in developing countries with religious belief such as the middle east countries. Several parents oriented their girls towards the choice of artistic fields and pursue their sons to science subjects for better income in their future jobs.

However, I suppose, students must have the right to follow their desire at school and university. By continuing subjects that they interest on, they will become successful in the future. Besides, some society believes that girls are housewives and take care of the family. This attitude should be changed. Society appreciates and supports the females' idea of pursuing a career as an engineer or a scientist.

In conclusion, although girls often want to learn arts and boys will be able to like studying science more. I believe this trend should be changed. Every student should choose the subject they love regardless of their gender so that there will be more enthusiastic professionals in both art and science.