Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today's world has been witnessed a controversial discussion regarding the role of governments and large companies in protecting the Earth's ecosystem. While some people agree only those mentioned parties have a vast impact on environmental improvement, I believe individuals also get involved in this progress as protecting the environment is not a solo career.

Undeniably, most governments nowadays have imported stricter policies and punishments on preventing environmental devastation by a gradual decrease in fume emission or a slight increase in the number of rainforests. For example, European countries have already signed collaboration contracts in which they agreed to limit the amount of CO2 released into the atmosphere. Another example is Scandinavian nations encourage their citizens to use public transports for commuting. Consequently, it is not abnormal if a tourist sees numerous people cycling around Stockholm city or walking with their bikes in the parks near the Copenhagen area.

As the environment has become a hot pot globally, large corporations have been made huge differences in environmental protection through several campaigns towards sustainable development. The truth is that people's awareness is heightening day by day, and their concerns about environmental conservation have become more robust and more specific. Therefore, consumers tend to support businesses generating social values, including preserving surrounding areas. For instance, Uniliver creates its campaigns focusing on manufacturing organic products and better manufacturing machines to lessen the amount of disposal waste.

Last but not least, environmental policies cannot be done without participation from individuals. Specifically, a no-plastic waste policy is hard to be done if citizens cannot recognize the harmfulness of using plastic products. Similarly, if a person is aware of garbage classification, companies can save time gathering waste for the recycling process. Thus, individual involvement does count in the process of protecting the ecosystem.

Shortly, improving the environment cannot be determined only by the role of governments or big companies. Instead, this comes from a solid collaboration of all relevant parties, including individuals, for a better living planet.