Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is true that many criminals do not change and keep on committing crimes even after punishment. There are several reasons for repeating crimes after serving a term and various steps can be taken to prevent such behavior at societal as well as government level.

There are a few reasons to explain the behavior of criminals after they come out serving time in prison. The main causes are unemployment, poverty, and insufficient education. In fact, employers are not likely to hire someone who broken the law and was dangerous to the community. As a result, the unemployment level will arise which leads to financial difficulty. For example, HR managers usually priority a person having many degrees than who comes back from prisons although their talent is the same. Furthermore, people who have a lack of education may feel hard for them to do jobs that need good skills and knowledge. Although the government organized many vocational courses in prison, offenders do not have a chance to develop themselves in the community honestly. In addition, prisons are a dangerous environment which has people taking part in illegal acts. Despite managing closely, criminals continue to commit a crime there.

There are several plausible approaches that can be taken by both governments and the local communities to reduce crime and re-offending. First of all, prisons should keep providing more educational or vocational training courses as knowledge and skills from these courses will help criminals connect with the community and have more chance in life. Second, the government should organize rehabilitation programmes with community service to let prisoners get close to society before being released. Furthermore, innocent people will have different looking at people who commit a crime so that improving and reforming the awareness of them should be focused on as well. Finally, the local authority needs to look for some types of work suitable for offenders, which is a good way to help them start a new life.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various causes of re-offending and both governments and domestic communities should do best to tackle this problem.