Individuals should not be allowed to carry guns. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people argue that we should prohibit citizens from possessing guns. I totally agree with this view.

I am of opinion that providing everyone with access to guns could potentially lead to less-than-desire consequences. The first reason is that the presence of firearms in the house might threaten survival and safety of family members and even bystanders. For instance, a child might think a gun as a toy and unintentionally shot himself or a person visiting their friend’s house at night could be mistakenly shot dead because the householder might believe that he was an intruder. Another reason is that although advocates of gun ownership contend that guns could be used effectively in legitimate defense situations, they underestimate the danger when those weapons are fallen into hands of criminals and especially terrorists. Indeed, the recent mass shootings in France and America, which killed and injured many innocent citizens, remind us again about the negative outcome of gun ownership.

I believe that governments should put a ban on gun ownership because it would bring greater benefits to society as a whole. Firstly, it is no doubt clear that criminals would have less opportunity to possess firearms, resulting in a lower rate of crime. The clearest example of this is that countries that have strict gun control laws such as Vietnam or the United Kingdom have significantly less violent crimes than countries such as the United States where guns are still easily accessible. Secondly, gun control would help governments reduce remarkable societal costs associated with gun violence such as life insurance, medical care for injured victims or policing for the protection of security. Therefore fund could be allocated to pressing issues such as education or housing shortage.

In conclusion, I would argue that the possession of guns should be outlawed because of the potential danger stemming from the proliferation of gun crimes and great benefits this policy brings to our society.