Now big cities have many problems. What are these problems? Do you think the government should encourage city residents to move to small cities and towns?

It is true that with the modernisation and urbanisation process, metropolises are increasingly facing several issues. In my opinion, urban citizens should be encouraged to live and work in suburban areas.

There are two main problems that make living in large urban areas to become a burden. Perhaps the first one is that as city residents nowadays are more likely to drive to work rather than walking or cycling, the number of cars has increased rapidly, causing heavily congested conditions. In Hanoi capital, for example, with over five thousand cars registered, traffic jams could not be handled without forcing travellers to wait in a long queue during rush hours. The other major issue is the scarcity of housing due to the overcrowding. In the purpose of earning a living, more and more people move to big cities and this has lead to an increase in housing demands. As a result, people with low or medium incomes who can not afford a house have to live in confined and cheap apartments.

I am of opinion that it is advisable for the government to motivate urban residents to relocate to the suburbs. Firstly, big cities would reap great benefits from this policy as the population density in those areas would decrease considerably. It becomes clear that the intensity of traffic could also be reduced and housing shortages are no longer a problem. Secondly, it is those who move to smaller cities or rural areas that could have a more comfortable life. They could enjoy a better environment with fresh air, green pastures and will not have to face the problem of bumper-to-bumper traffic.

In conclusion, traffic jams and housing pressure are two main issues confronting metropolitan areas and I believe that feasible measures should be taken to motivate urban citizens to relocate to rural areas.