International travel is becoming cheaper and more and more countries open their door and with more and more tourists Do the advantages of the increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages

Undoubtedly, in the present scenario, the rate of international travel has been increased since it has become cheaper. A growing number of countries are opening their doors in terms of inclining the tourism industry. I am of the opinion that this trend has more merits rather than demerits.

To commence with, the prominent advantage is global harmony. If more and more people would make excursions to diverse nations, they will interact with local people or explore the things. There is more likelihood that their barriers related to language, religions and cultures will decline. Thus, it would bring harmony in the nations when there will be less conflicts among people. In other words, individuals may express their thoughts, opinions and knowledge with each other without any issue. Hence, it would not only promote better understanding but also develop cordial relations among society.

Moreover, tourism is also accountable for the continuous growth of economy of the nations. When voyagers visit any country, it has an implicit impact on its economic growth. The expenditures incurred on the purchase of tickets, accommodation and food directly goes to the higher authorities. These generated funds are used for the overall development of a nation to provide the amenities to the public. Consequently, with the help of tourism, economy also grows. For example, a recent survey conducted by an eminent economist at Oxford University stated that tourism industry is an indispensable sector which has a great role to play. Owing to the fact, more than 70% of the revenue is generated from this sector solely.

However, there are several drawbacks of tourism. The first and foremost demerit is the loss of culture of holiday makers. It is generally seen that, nowadays, people give more preference to go abroad in terms of exploring new splendid opportunities such as employment, migration and getting overseas experience. Although an ample number of skills are acquired by visitors while their travel to foreign countries, the main factor which persuade them to a greater extent is western culture. Individuals opt to change their own culture and religion and follow others when they get influenced by others tradition and customs. Therefore, it leads to the loss of their own culture.

To conclude, tourism has both advantages as well as disadvantages. Despite having a few demerits of this rising trend, its advantages are far more in comparison.