It is becoming increasingly popular to have year off between finishing school and going to university. What are advantages and disadvantages of this?

Although it is thought by some that a gap of one year is essential before entering higher education, as children get time for preparing competitive exams and earn money from doing work but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account.

Firstly, one benefit of children having one year gap is that they can prepare for competitive examinations. Everybody is not able to crack exams along with higher secondary school. Those who are planning for professional courses need to clear this exam to get admission in reputed institutions. Children can use this gap exclusively. Secondly, children who are coming from poor financial background earn money for their advanced studies so that they can continue their studies easily.

On the other hand, one problem when children have a year gap is that there is a chance of changing the syllabus what the child is following throughout their studies. This creates serious understanding problems. Another issue is that some universities have age limits for particular courses, so the gap prevents them from entering some particular courses. Again some students lose their interest is that their batchmates enter higher studies for the same year and they are behind in classes.

In conclusion, while children enjoy the benefit of a year they are also losing a year.