It is becoming increasingly popular to have year off between finishing school and going to university. What are advantages and disadvantages of this?

Although it is thought by some that a gap of one year is essential before entering higher education. Children get time to prepare for competitive exams and earn money by working as apprentices jobs, there are also drawbacks to be taken into account.

Firstly, one benefit of children having one year gap is that by using this time period they can they can prepare for entrance examinations. Obviously, everybody may not be able to crack exams along with their higher secondary schooling. For example, those who are planning for professional courses need to clear qualification exams to get admission in reputed institutions. Therefore children can make use of this academic break for training vigorously and cracking competitive exams. Secondly, children who are coming from a poor financial background could earn enough money for learning advanced studies by taking a break. This, in turn, helps to make university education rather easily accessible for all sectors of the population

Having a year gap may give rise to an issue that these could be a change or update of the syllabus from what the foregone year's studies were focused on. This creates serious understanding problems and issues to pursue their studies. Another issue worth to note that the academic break might restrict the entrance to some specific schools in some universities since they have age limits in some universities. Moreover, some students lose their interest in studies as their colleagues enter into higher studies with a headstart and they get a feeling of being left behind.

In conclusion, while children can take the benefit out of a year gap such as improving their competitiveness and earning enough for higher studies there are also disadvantages to be taken care off.