It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Some people argue that spending a year out from regular academic studies in between completing high school and joining university is beneficial while for others, it does no good. There are both merits and demerits of taking this gap year. The essay attempts to dig into both aspects.

Firstly, a gap year has been considered to be good because a fresh high school graduate may not be well aware of possible career paths for him. But a gap year may help him explore market trends of professions more closely, that in turn will guide him to choose an appropriate faculty at his university years. For instance, many students who took a year off to travel the world to get first hand experience of current situation and analyze the future trends and then went to university of their choice based on their career objectives have been found to be more successful in their careers. Secondly, financial obligations could be met to some extent after taking a gap year to work. For example, higher degree institutions require upfront tuition fees to be paid by the student. An aspiring student can save some money to be able to pay to college of his choice.

In the other hand, there are people who once took a break and never returned to academics which has been the downside of a gap year. It happened because, after experiencing the enjoyment from a long break, one couldn’t come back to study. This apparently promotes young folk to indulge into drugs or other bad habits that might not be reversible. Furthermore, some pupils tend to take a longer gaps before they make up their mind to continue their studies and by that time its is already too late for many good institutions to offer them a place. In other words, the age factor matters for getting admissions at highly accredited institutions.

To sum up, taking a year off from studies might be beneficial for those who by themselves want to explore the world and choose their faculties at the university but at the same time this might be detrimental for those who wants to take off just to get rid of studies and assignments.