Some people think that in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should try to reduce environmental pollution and housing problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Environmental problem has been considered to be a pressing issue in number of discussions about future existence of human beings. Some people believe that illness and disease is attributed solely to environment and housing conditions and governments should work to discuss these problems urgently. I strongly support the belief.

The solid waste in cities degenerate surroundings supporting growth and spread of disease-causing microbes. Firstly, it pollutes sources of water when rainwater that falls upon the piles of decayed waste is then carried into nearby sources of water. Consequently, the microbes reach people’s gut and cause diseases when they consume water from such contaminated sources. Secondly, the foul smell that comes out from waste carries air-borne diseases and spread in no time. It may also give rise to epidemics if not treated promptly. For instance, the monsoon in southeast Asia not only brings in flood and landslide but also is responsible for the spread of most of the water borne diseases.

Housing conditions are also responsible for deteriorating public health specially in the underdeveloped countries. The temporary structures with inadequate air circulation space cause the spread of diseases among the household members via polluted air. In addition, poor sanitation management in the household also give rise to deadly diseases. For example, lack of safe toilets and clean kitchen is one of the major cause of diseases in refugee camps and temporary settlements.

To sum up, most illness and diseases are the result of faulty environmental and housing conditions of a locality and governments must prioritise in coping with these issues with utmost urgency. In order to have a sustainable solution, the rules and regulations must be formed and implemented strictly.