Space exploration cost tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages of spending money on space exploration?

Technological advancement has become one of the competing races among most advanced countries of the world. Out of many technology researches, space exploration is one, that most governments spend their annual budget on which is more praiseworthy then disgraceful.

To begin with, it is because of the advancement of space technologies, that the globe now has been considered as a village by virtue of which one can exchange information regardless of his or her physical presence. The development of internet is a boon to today's lifestyle. Moreover, it is satellites that has helped to understand earth and its life forms including the universe from distant. Life wouldn’t have become so easy hadn’t this innovation helped predict the past present and future of the earth’s surrounding. For example, prediction of soon approaching disasters has saved millions of lives by alerting to be victims and taking actions pronto.

The flip side of it is that the significant share of citizens tax has been argued to be spend on secondary things like this one where more important aspects of human life such as curing epidemics, fighting poverty and so on should be of priority. For instance, instead of spending large sum of money on space travel and shuttles, developing infrastructures on the ground that would help reduce poverty of the marginalized people. The roadways and hospitals and researches to identify medication to deadly diseases like AIDS, Cancer etc.

To sum up, while there exist drawbacks for prioritizing outer space research, benefits are more as space exploration advancement is making life easier on earth.