It is commonly believed that nowadays main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is generally argued by some that external factors have several significant impacts on a child’s development; diametrically opposed to this, others propound the idea that the dedicated upbringing of parents plays an important role in children progression. Although both sides may advance equally compelling arguments in support of themselves, I personally incline towards the latter for the rationale that follows.

On the one hand, it is a fact beyond dispute that there are a number of reasons why most of the child’s development is affected by technologies and their peers in the modern era. To begin with, the children are likely to copy the behaviour and catchphrases of their favourite personalities. For instance, more increasing of violent display and colloquial advertising is showed by the uncontrolled proliferation of media platforms, which negatively affects children progression. In addition, the young generation’s can be easily influenced by the digital world, trending fashion and peers. Because of the fast-paced technological innovation, children these days spend their time on the screen. Therefore, the young tend to immerse in different international cultures by the sharing of internet users and friends.

On the other hand, there is no gainsaying that the training of parents is most significant to the development of the young age. The first point is that only parents can teach the children how to talk and behave toward others in accordance with the moral code. A further explanation worth mentioning is that parents are great friends for the pupil. Taking the typical example is that mom and dad can spend their spare time playing video games, do some outdoor activities or brainstorming ideas for homework at school after taking the school hours, which are extremely contributed to foster the family bonding.

To conclude then, whilst there exist contrasting stances on the matter, it is taxing work to determine which may be more positive. Howbeit, in line with the previous discussion, I am convinced to assert that the parents’ guidance is a vital role in the successful development of the pupil.