It is difficult for people to live in cities to get enough physical exercise. What are the causes and what are solutions could be taken to solve the problem?

It is true that nowadays people living in cities have much less physical exercise compared to our ancestors. This essay will discuss the causes of being less exercise and the measures that how can we solve this issue.

Lacking of physical exercise is the one of the significant issue exists in our modern society, and there are a few possibilities to cause this. Firstly, the majority of working adults in cities are likely to have a higher sedentary hour. For instance, people who work in office require a longer hours to sit in front of their computer. Secondly, public transports and private vehicles are getting popular in cities recently, we are therefore able to commute from one place to the other without raising our heart rate. As a result, the two main possibilities above address the situation that people in cities may encounter on their daily basis.

However, there are some measures could be done to solve, or at least mitigate, this problem. First, government can impose a law that compelling companies to allow their employees to take an hour or two in a week to do some cardio exercises during their working hour. By making this law, employees are unnecessary to worry if they have not enough time for doing exercise when they are back home. Second, our government can promote choosing biking to commute to work if office workers live in bikeable area. Like Taipei government has launched “U bike”, a point-to-point renting bike in Taipei, that has boosted up the will for commuters to utilize for short term travelling, which in turn gradually increase their chance for exercising. As a consequence, this methods may be able to tackle the problem of being less exercising for city dwellers.

In conclusion, although there indeed are some cautions of lacking of exercising, we can start taking actions to increase physical exercise.