The users of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face to face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

The modern social media are the first option for youth to communicate with their friends, and that gradually substitute face-to-face contact. In my opinion, I think the negative consequences surpass the benefits.

The trend of the social media are replacing the way of talking in-person that have some drawbacks in terms of social aspect. First and the foremost, social media shows the thinking and the life moment from our friends. Some people may think this can catch up with their friend more easily and efficiently by simply following their Facebook or Twitter page, I, however, think this can lead to a reducing of friends meeting, which is a genuine approach for maintaining a healthy friendship. On top of this, the situation of chatting via social media can lead to the situation of lacking social ability. As a result, people may be trapped in their small social zone and be eventually isolated from our society.

In addition, there will be some more problem derived from losing social ability. When people have much less chance to make new friends, they might have much fewer friends as time goes by, and this could eventually cause some mental problem. Autism and depression, for example, are the common mental diseases that highly related to social problem in modern society. Furthermore, if these diseases accompany with them to their elder age, dementia can be occurred. My grandfather, for instance, he is exactly the example of this story, having social difficulty that lead to depression, and eventually have dementia. Consequently, the social difficulty can not only make fewer friends and therefore cause mental disease.

In conclusion, while the modern social media wide-spread in this century, I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantage of this situation that people are using more social media instead of chatting in-person.