In some countries governments pay the money for students’ university fees,while in other countries, students pay for themselves. Do advantages of governments paying for the students outweigh its disadvantages?

There are different approaches of how tuition fees are paid for students to go to university. In some countries, students can go to university because their government sponsors them. In my opinion, I think the negative consequences surpass the benefits.

On the one hand, the situation of governments pay for students’ fee might be rational in the following reasons. The main point is that they could create a “win-win” relationship between governments and students. By paying university’s fee from their government, students will be unnecessarily to work for paying their student loan during their studying period, thus they will be fully able to pay attention to their study. Their country, therefore, would have some better skilled professionals to work for their government and contribute to their society. As a result, their government will be beneficial from these workers due to their taxes paying toward the government, which in turn support their next generation’s education.

There are, however, more problems that are associated with this approach need to pay attention to. The first point is that students would be less thoughtful about which subject they should study practically for their future. If they do not need to pay for studying in university, which means they will have less pressure in terms of their financial situation, thus they might choose subjects toward their habits or interests that will not be able to contribute to their society and making enough money for themself. Secondly, students may treat their classes non-valuably. For instance, they could skip classes and not pay attention to their study. As a result, university seems cheap and useless in students’ sight and will be less effective to produce great professions.

In conclusion, it may be reasonable that government pay for students’ university. However, the university may lose their function when students not treasure the opportunity of studying. As far as I concerned, the government should not pay for student’s university fees.