It is important for all towns and cities to have large public outdoor places like squares and parks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One school of thought holds that public outdoor spaces play an important role in the development of major towns and cities. While this perception could be fraught with pitfalls, I would accept that it is of paramount importance to build several communal places such as squares and parks based on some reasons discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, the option of having this kind of open-air space may lead to an increase in minor infractions. This argument sheds light on numerous detrimental effects such as being a target of criminals that residents might have to face during the time they spend on outdoor activities. To be specific, the famous Nguyen Hue street established in 2018 attracted a large number of visitors to come and have a great time with their family members. As being distracted by the lively pace of out-of-door games and being tightly packed in the space, residents are becoming the victims of pickpockets and losing their money as well as precious things such as jewelry or purses. Moreover, it can also damage the public image of the beauty of Ho Chi Minh city.

On the other hand, there are myriads of compelling reasons as I am convinced that it is beneficial for towns and cities to have outdoor spaces. Firstly, enormous public spaces can be a great way to raise people’s health. There are numerous parks or squares that offer a wide range of free-charge sports equipment and facilities to encourage residents to exercise daily. Therefore, it will both improve the people’s standard of living and provide strong labor for the country. Another evidence to support the first reason is that communal spaces tend to be covered by green trees and foster a greener atmosphere that can help residents get rid of stress and provide an escape for them to relax after a long day of tired working. As a result, it can promote healthy habits regularly and enjoy the peace of living.

In conclusion, although there is still a threat that comes from petty crimes, I believe that the main reason is to promote people's health and reduce pressure to make the way governments install open-air spaces such as squares or parks more effective.