It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote environments. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern-day, it is easier for scientists and tourists to have an exploration to distant isolated destinations. While I accept that this perception can have potential benefits to the natural habitat, I believe that the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages based on many reasons discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, both scientific and touristic expeditions in remote areas may bring a huge benefit to the protection of animal species. In terms of researchers, being closely exposed to the targeted area of study in their natural habitat can facilitate the way scientists find precise data and collect useful information. Another reason is that tourists who visit remote areas may have awareness of the damages of climate change, therefore have been motivated to protect fragile ecosystems that have been destroyed by human activities. For example, a campaign to preserve an endangered eagle in the Himalayas was carried out by two visitors after they had a chance to see the factual context of dying gradually of this kind of eagle.

On the other hand, there are myriads for compelling reasons as I am convinced that it hurts the environment. This means that people’s activities that occur in distant areas can affect the structures of ecosystems. For instance, a cruise boat heading to the South Pole struck an iceberg and sank to the ocean floor, which caused the disposal of several oil spills into the water surfaces that cover a number square kilometers. Despite the effort of the government to recover the initial state of the ocean, the dangerous oil spills still affected many marine creatures and disturbed the ecological balance across the other countries and the nearby water.

In conclusion, although there are numerous advantages of having an opportunity to distant destinations for promoting scientific research and raising awareness of the public, I believe that the hazardous activities that happen in these areas are the main reason which destroys the structure and animals living.