Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One school of thought holds that the only method to tackle starvation and poverty is enhancing the economy. While this perception is somewhat justifiable, I would stand on the other view that economic growth must be prevented because it increasingly damages the environment based on some reasons discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, the option of promoting the economy seems to be a great tool to face up poverty and hunger. This argument sheds light on numerous enterprises and businesses that gain success in their market, which contribute to the nation’s budget. Therefore, this huge amount of money will be allocated to building houses or making a charitable donation to support lower classes. Moreover, other economic sectors can provide people from poverty opportunities and jobs to secure their living standards and have a sustainable income. By doing this, starvation will be ended and create a large number of strong labor to contribute and create other great benefits for residents.

On the other hand, there are myriads of compelling reasons as I am convinced that it is of paramount importance to stop economic growth. To be illustrated, the growth in the economy means that numerous hazardous activities are created to satisfy the demand of massive production. For example, farmers are likely to use more fertilizers and chemicals to promote the development of plants while it can be seen that many factories release an amount of carbon dioxide to the surrounding environments. As a result, in the long term, it can lead to an ecology crisis and raise more fatal diseases for both animals and humans. Therefore, the next generation can not experience the beautification of the earth and may have to live in a terrible environment that is the result of economic growth.

In conclusion, although promoting the economy can bring many benefits such as providing jobs or creating strong labor to deal with hunger and poverty, I believe that the outcomes that damage the environment from hazardous activities and destroy ecosystems for the next generations alert people to prevent economic growth.