Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that it is beneficial for children to read stories through books rather than spend too much time watching TV and playing online games. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I believe that virtual games or TV programs have their values for young children.

On the one hand, it is better to encourage children to read stories from books. Firstly, a regular habit of stories at bedtime can reinforce the love between parents and children by spending most of the time together in shared activities. Secondly, unlike virtual means, through stories read by books, children can imagine the story's context in their ways, which provides for them a wonderful place to nurture their souls and mentality. For example, by hearing stories such as Little Red Riding Hood, they can imagine that they are the girl in the story and have an amazing expedition to save their grandparents from the dangerous wolf.

On the other hand, there are myriads of compelling reasons as I am convinced that it is of paramount importance to play games or watch TV. In terms of playing games, it is a great way to excite the sense of children. For instance, thanks to the technology with cutting-edge graphic designs and sound effects that appeared on games, children can enjoy the live sound, and by the click on the screen, they can be exposed to numerous actual characters. On the side of the TV programs, by being a targeted audience of numerous animation companies, children can take advantage of a large number of amazing shows to gain expertise in any field or learn new knowledge. One of the most successful sitcoms is Phineas and Ferb, that provides children a wonderful childhood with many virtual friends and is exciting whenever seeing the character complete their missions.

In conclusion, although I believe stories can be a tool to enhance family love and promote children’s imagination, I would stand on the view that the value of playing and watching TV or games may let children complete their senses and be exciting to learn new things through digital platforms.