It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion What sort of punishment should parents and t

It is true that teaching young children to tell right from wrong makes a great difference in their growth. I agree that punishing children when they do wrong allows them to distinguish right and wrong efficiently but it is subject to proper punishment methods.

For a variety of reasons, a proper punishment can help children learn and improve from what they have done. To start with, compared with rewards, punishment provides an undesirable experience for young people, thus making it possible for them to be aware that they have done something wrong. In addition, paying one's debts is reasonable. When children have to pay a cost for their behaviour, they would like to think twice before performing it directly, which helps them make fewer mistakes. What's more, if there is no punishment, children could not realize dangers of wrong things and the joys from the right things would be at a discount.

Therefore, many proper punishment methods should be taken by parents and teachers to help children learn the distinction of between right and wrong. Punishment performs as a method of education, which cannot threaten young people's mental and physical health. For example, punishing bad behaved children by not allowing them to watch TV or play their favourite toys can help children realize their mistakes and do nothing bad to their health at the same time. Besides, teachers and parents could allow some study or housework tasks to be children's educational punishment. These can help those who behave badly pay for their behaviour and improve their other skills.

In conclusion, I agree with the idea that proper punishment is sometimes necessary to teach children to behave well and tell right and wrong.