It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is commonly believed by many that children should be taught the moral values from childhood, even though if it requires penalizing them. Although I agree with the statement, but punishment should not be physical, rather it should be emotional.

To begin with, personality building process begins from the early stages of life, when each individual is few years old. The intensity of influence of anything on them during this age is very extreme, and even with little wrong guidance, his whole life and career can be deteriorated. This is because, they are immature and their mind is in the state of learning, which they never forget. The study conducted by Harvard University suggested that the children need special care during early ages, as it is the deciding factor where they can lead either on the right or wrong direction. Therefore, it is indispensable to make them understand the disparity between good and bad, when they are underage.

On the other hand, rectifying their behavior is not always easy, sometimes it is the necessity to get ahold of punishment, although it should not be physical. Punishing by beating them can adversely affect their mental health, and hinder innovation and creativity altogether, which can further exacerbate the situation. Instead, parents and teachers should tap on their feelings and emotions, to restrain them repeating the same mistake again. To exemplify, I threaten my niece all the time on misbehavior, by not bringing chocolates for her, due to which she apologizes and never do it again. Furthermore, the teachers are also obliged to not hit the students with sticks or hands on low score or bad manner, rather they should encourage them through gifts or awards. It is absolute imperative that the approach towards children should always be a soft one, not harsh one, if the aim is of teaching them morality.

In conclusion, it is either compulsory for the children to familiarize themselves with the basic norms of the society or not during childhood is a controversial issue. I completely side with the statement, that children should know what is right and wrong from the early stages of life. While capital punishment is not the way to make them behave, I do believe that the psychological approach is the more affective one.