It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

The concept of right and wrong is an essential tool in the quest for a balanced moral development of the juvenile; hence, the ability to distinguish between the two of the greater good of the human race, from the outset. In order to entrench this attribute, certain measures are needed to be in place to appreciate this characteristic. In this essay, my level of support will be made know and also prescribe the types of retribution carers should employ to promote enviable manners.

Firstly, the young one need to imbibe the culture of responsibility to themselves and the community at large, due to the fact that their (in)actions are of a multiplier effect. This will enable them build an egalitarian society, an ingredient for a sustainable society. Appreciation of this distinction of the issue of good and evil from a tender age is because that is the period of personality formation and impressibility.

Secondly, I wish to lend my voice to the fact that punishment, positive and negative rewards, and not necessarily corporal retribution, should be made an essential tool for the establishment of a balanced and ethical personal development

Furthermore, actions are required for the reinforcement and deterrent of good and bad behaviour respectively. These could exist in various forms, to mold and not distort the development of the adult. I will prescribe actions such as denial of some priviledges for breaking already spelt out rules of engagement and conferment of extra priviledge to praise strict compliance. They should be dished out in various forms that are commensurate with the children’s infractions. This will enable them understand the issues of justice and fairplay, the fabric of construction of a modern community.

To conclude, exposure of our wards to the differentiation between right and wrong cannot be overemphasized, rewards are necessary to reinforce good and deter bad behaviours. These activities at the same time are such that will not erode the concept of equity and fairness.