To learn effectively, children need to eat a healthy meal at school.

How true is this statement? Whose responsibility is it to provide food for school children?

For efficient and effective transfer of knowledge, it is believed that every child is required to have a nutritious meal during the hours of instruction in class. this essay will be examining the relevance of this submission and outline whose expectation it is, to carry out this function.

it is has been repeatedly stated that supplying of meals to pupils while learning encouraged enhanced school enrolment and attendance. this is also believed to make learning attractive and by so doing, improves the efficiency of skills transfer. it, in addition, encourages participation in the activities mapped out to be learnt. The richness of these meals has also been demonstrated to contribute to the enhanced cerebral development of these wards, because they are rich in quality nutrients that enhance cognition, aptitude and development.

In addition to this, comparing the periods when such were not provided to when quality food was supplied, the academic output of the former subjects were poorer, when compared to the latter. A case in point happened in Ekiti state of Nigeria, when the governor introduced a mid-day meal for pupils and this was reflected in the rate of enrolment and the increased performance in public examinations.

To achieve this laudable position, every hand must be on deck to provide the ingredients required. Parents are encouraged to fulfill their obligations to government by promptly paying their taxes and levies. At the same time, the different organs of government must brace up and rise to their responsibilities of collecting, managing and dispensing the resources committed to them to provide among others an optimal meal to this group of persons.

To submit, decent meals should be for school children while learning and it believed that the parties cooperate as much as possible due the fact that economic inequality exists and the provision of a balanced diet while at school will help bridge that divide, and this has a multiplier effect on the development of the nation.