It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Building a society free from bad deeds and crimes requires learning how to discriminate between good and bad from childhood, and punishment is believed to be an effective means of teaching this to children. I strongly agree that punishment is needed for obtaining this objective, however, not every type of it must be implemented.

As is seen in our contemporary world, a great amount of time and energy is allocated to dealing with people not abiding by the laws and the ones committing crimes. Teaching children how to choose the right way can definitely contribute to preventing all sorts of wrong doings in adulthood. Admittedly, punishment is a viable method to make children realize the undesirable results that acting wrongly can bring. As an example, in many countries, students are supposed to do community services, such as cleaning classrooms, as a punishment. Moreover, young children do not have strong reasoning ability and they usually tend to disobey their parents and teachers to do what appeals to them. Therefore, punishment can assist in teaching discipline to kids provided that acceptable methods that do not lead children to learning violence, is applied. For instance, physical punishment can never bring about positive results, and at the same time, it is considered as an act violating children’s rights. Hence, the best kinds of punishment are proved to be the ones restricting kids from doing what they enjoy to do for a while.

It is accepted that, rarely does the punishment result in depression and sometimes reverse effects, such as rebellious behavior. However, it is by no means a strong reason for overlooking the benefits of correct punishment.

To sum up, it appears to me that applying right ways of punishment can teach children how to behave rightly and avoid acting out of line.