It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age.Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

The issue of whether parents should punish their child(ren) when kid(s) do something wrong make lots of people debate this action is suitable for children's development or not. In my opinion, punishment is necessary but depends on the situation.

First of all, children learn quickly and can distinguish between right and wrong if parents or guardians can point or the things children make is right or wrong. For example, if a kid does not collect the toys he or she plays after finish, adults can let the children know what consequences will have if the toys are spread all over the home. It may hurt someone who steps on the toy, for example. Therefore, in this situation, no punishment is needed because it is not a serious fault.

Second, in the following situation, punishment is necessary. If a kid steals other person's belonging and this kid tell a lie saying he did not do it, a teacher or parents can do something to let this child know doing so would have a serious consequence like go to jail. This child's parents may ask this child to apologize what he or she has done. Thus, in this situation, a punishment is necessary to let the kid know this is not right and learn a lesson from it.

Third, not all punishment should be done in front of people. That is, parents should also consider children's esteem. Sometimes, parents can tell children what he or she does is not right first and then have a punishment when they are back to home. For example, a kid called Alex is running in the restaurant which may hurt himself and other people so parents can tell Alex it is dangerous to run and have a punishment at home.

In conclusion, there are many kinds of punishment parents can do to help their children to learn from the mistakes. Such a timeout which makes children calm down. It also depends on different occasions to punish right away or later.