It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people assume that school should focus on teaching local history than world history. I completely disagree with this opinion because both play an equally important role.

On the one hand, a range of benefits from studying local history offer to the young. I hold the belief that through history lessons and being taught about magnificent events in the past, their patriotism and civic pride would be developed. For instance, when schoolchildren learn about how their ancestors had suffered trauma or even sacrificed to defend their hometown against the invaders, they would fully appreciate the freedom and the peace they have today. In addition, it is necessary for everybody to acknowledge the history of their locality so that they have thorough insights into their roots as well as traditional values of their country.

On the other hand, parallel to local history, world history is also a must in the school's curriculum. A reason for this point of view is that some of the world's past events had profound impacts on the world. For example, the success of the October Revolution of Russia had encouraged movements of national liberation in many other ethnic, which marked a great move of contemporary politics. Furthermore, the world has become globalized, it is not strange today that a group of people like to live in a foreign country. Obviously, understanding of the history and culture of the host country would make it is easier for those people to reinforce the relationship between them and the expatriates from that country.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that both local history and that of international history are significant for children's early education.