It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent, do you argee or disargee?

It is argued that learning about local history is more essential for children than learning about world history. I disagree with this point of view because think that children should study both local and world history.

On the one hand, children need to learn about their local history. This would help them understand more about the living condition of older generations, therefore, the generation gap can be narrowed. For instacne, learning about a famine of Vietnam in 1945 will help children empathize with the difficult life of their grandparents and they will appreciate the value of good living condition nowadays. In addition, learning about local history makes children understand more about local traditions so that they will proud more of these and can maintain as well as develop these traditions.

On the other hand, schoolchildren should learn about world history as well. The first reason is that local history is a part of world history. Learning about world history is also a good way to help children learn about their local one. The second reason is that by learning world history, children will broaden their mind about the world, especially about the world situation in different periods and the international relationship during these time. This will help children adapt easier to the globalization today.

In conclusion, I believe that schoolchildren should learn about local history and world history equally.