It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment people who are already ill. Agree or disagree

It is generally believed that government expenditure should be allocated to promote a healthy lifestyle rather than to focus on treating patients. While I accept that a healthy lifestyle would prevent people from diseases, I would argue that public treatment still retains their important role in people's living.

On the one hand, it is justifiable to say that healthy lifestyle encouragement is more cost-effective than paying money to cure a particular disease. For instance, the cost of a balanced diet containing fundamental nutrients in the form of fresh ingredients such as meat, fish and vegetables as well as the cost of integrating these methods to education in the long term are within the government's financial capacity. Therefore, all kinds of people regardless of their ages, social status or whether they are patients or not, can also receive efficient support from the country for a sustainable lifestyle to prevent illness

On the other hand, there are many inevitable diseases which could not be prevented by a lifestyle or any other ways, but medical treatment. Covid 19 epidemic is the clearest evidence for the essentials of government funded treatment. Without these expenditures, many national citizens would experience a shortage of finance, especially the underprivileged, leading to widespread diseases and many serious consequences. Moreover, building an effective lifestyle which can prevent illness takes a lot of time and effort, while many illnesses related to occupational accidents or hereditary diseases still occur day by day. Such problems require financial support from the government to assure the health of the nation.

In conclusion, despite the remarkable impact of building a healthy lifestyle in society, I believe that there is still a great need for public treatment in today’s world.