Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are different views about the influence of advertisement on customers’ behaviours. While those who support that advertising is no longer affecting their buying decisions, I firmly believe that advertisement industries still play an important role in consumerism.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why people don’t take advertisements into account, as a result of their popularity day by day. Firstly, customers are gradually losing their belief in the quality of advertised products. In fact, there are many companies misleading people when advertising products, thereby giving rise to the disappointment of these buyers because the goods have not met their expectations. Secondly, advertisements are no longer the only ways of promotion strategies when many competitors in the market choose this way to launch their goods. Therefore, consumers are less likely to pay attention to advertisements, instead, they choose goods on their own decisions or based on other references.

On the other hand, I still believe that advertising is significantly successful at making purchase decisions. To begin with, the companies are upgrading their advertisements to a new level, which not just simply persuade people about the extraordinary quality of products. Instead, advertising makers combine their products with meaningful messages about family, environment or famous idols around the world, leading to more and more focusing on their brands. Also, channels of advertising are flexible and connective with various status of customers via the increasingly popular social media. Therefore, despite the fact that consumers are smarter with the thought that they can escape from the strategies of advertisement, the companies always have the ability to adapt to it.

In conclusion, it is my firm conviction that although people realise the huge impact of advertising, they still are affected by them when choosing and making purchase decisions.