Some people believe that a country will benefit greatly if its students study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that overseas students have a huge influence on their home country's development. Despite the potential risk of a brain drain, I still totally agree with the statement because these students make great financial and intellectual contributions to their countries.

The main concern over studying abroad is the fact that some international students might not consider moving back to their countries. Opponents of the idea argue that the loss of human capital as a result of students leaving permanently might negatively affect a country’s overall development. However, the argument fails to take into account the fact that international students still support finance for their families or relatives through a huge sum of remittances, through which people of their homeland can contribute to the development of a nation, and thus students are able to make positive impacts to their countries. Also,

Furthermore, students upon return have brought with them much-needed capital, innovative ideas and economic contribution to their homelands. In fact, there are many international students becoming the assets of big corporations or startups successfully in the fields of technology, softwares or foreign trading. Such achievements have profoundly changed the economic facets of the country, particularly the case of developing ones. Moreover, overseas students can pass their abundant knowledge as well as skillful experiences, which are gained in long term progress in foreign countries, onto the next generations by participating in education. Thanks to receiving the advanced technology and modern studying environment, they can give a rise to improve the homelands education; thereby becoming a key to enhance intellectual development and solve the human capital issues.

In conclusion, it is my firm conviction that studying abroad is a welcomed force for good, especially for developing countries. It is not an overstatement to say that overseas students, with the profound contributions they have brought home, can serve as catalysts for the economic advancement of a nation.