It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaurs, dodos, etc.). There is no reason why people should stop this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

More governments are showing great concern related to the extinction of animal species. When this issue comes into view, there exist conflicting opinions. Some people share the view that the extinction of many species is a natural process. Therefore, people are not able to take steps to stop this problem from continuing. From my point of view, I wholeheartedly disagree with this point and will support my argument in the essay below.

To begin with, the most important argument against this point of view is that humans are the indirect cause of extinction. To be more specific, it is obvious that people increasingly burn fossil fuels, cut down trees and farm livestock day by day. That contributes to climate change and the earth's temperature which lower many species' survival rates. This is because global warming results in less food, less reproduction and interfering with the environment for native wildlife. According to the statistics on the IUCN Red List of threatened species, climate change currently affects at least 10,967 species, increasing the likelihood of their extinction. For that reason, people are indirectly leading to the extinction of animal species.

In addition, humans are also the immediate cause of extinction. The most frequent factor contributing to this view is that these days people increasingly use many products whose main material is from animals. For example, rhinoceros are killed by poachers for their horns, which are bought and sold on the black markets for high prices, leading to most living rhinoceros species being considered endangered. As a matter of fact, rhinos are under threat. To clarify, over 7,100 African rhinos have been killed in the last 10 years. Consequently, natural processes are not all responsible for the extinction of animal species. Hence, people should change their actions to prevent animals from extinction.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that animal extinction is attributed to humans' actions. Thus, people should find ways to reverse this trend.