Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday lives. Is it a positive or negative development?

In today’s world, it is obvious that advertisements are becoming more widespread day by day. This means that they play an important part in human’s life in this day and age. From my perspective, I am of the view that this is positive development because of the benefits provided by advertisements. In this essay, an attempt will be made to investigate its advantages.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to my point of view is that advertisements bring good sides to the sale of products. To put it in another way, advertisements might increase the product's sale. One example to demonstrate this view is that according to the survey on sales published on Harvard Business Review in June in 1990, advertising showed a significant effect on a new product because of the increase in sales averaged 21% across all new product branches. As this example reveals, it is undisputed that advertisement has a good impact on sales.

In addition, one explanation to support this statement is that advertisements may lead to the higher standard of living. This is shown by the following example. The experience of advanced nations shows that advertising is greatly responsible for raising the living standards of the people. In the words of Winston Cherchil, “advertising nourishes the consuming power of men and creates wants for better standard of living”. By bringing to the knowledge of the consumers different varieties and better-quality products, it has helped much in increasing the criterion of living in a developing economy like India. For that reason, it is clear that with the development of advertisement, the quality of life may have a chance to rise.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that the prevalence of advertisement has many merits for humankind’s lives. Therefore, I totally believe that this is a positive trend for our society.