Some people think that prison sentences should not be used to deal with criminals. Education and skills training should be used instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, most countries show a great concern about the problems of crime. It is thought that to deal with criminals, prison sentenced should not be used. To put it in another way, education and job training should be used as alternatives to prison sentences. From my perspective, I am totally convinced by this statement.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this view is that a large number of people committed crime because of the lack of education. Therefore, they are unable to aware of the legal and illegal activities as well as the right and wrong actions. In fact, in the mountainous areas of Vietnam, there was a significant rate of people who have the scarcity of education. When being interrogated, they said that they do not know that their actions are misconducts. As this example reveals, the culprit which lets people commit offence is the shortage of education. As a result, education should be applied to solve criminals rather than prison sentences.

In addition, one explanation to support this claim is that the cost of running and managing prisons is often costly. That means the government needs to invest much money on facilities and security. Hence, it will pose the government’s fund at the risk of being exhausted. This is shown by the following statistics. According to the reported figure of Justice, The FY 2019 budget request for the Federal Prison System totals $7,141 million to construct and recover the facility of jails. As this example suggests, upholding prisons demands a great sum of money from the government. Consequently, prison sentences should be stopped to save the expenditure spent for this purpose.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that prison sentences should make way for education and job training to figure out the issues regarding crimes because of its benefits mentioned above. For that reason, I wholly agree with the statement brought up.