It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

It is true that less and less student nowadays are choosing science-related courses for their further career prospect. In my opinion, there are a few reasons that led to this situation and it definitely generate adverse effects on society overall.

There are some causes which are the reason behind the scarcity in the number of students choosing to study science subjects. Firstly, it is widely known that those like Maths, Physics or Chemistry are considered to be heavy in tome of knowledge and high entry requirement in universities, not similar to those of others such as: foreign language course or Physical Training course. Secondly, it takes longer time to master everything and also being able to apply in real-life situation, sometimes trainees have to spend longer time in on-the-job training than normal students. Thirdly, not everyone can graduate and get flying scores for science major, even if student receive their certificates and get a desirable job with their achievement, these people tend to have no quality time with their kids and family.

Modern societies face a range of implicit threats with this issue. Since number of science qualified people decreases, there will be a higher in salary for those who already in the game and this is huge disadvantage for citizens who are not rich enough to pay for the services they received such as yearly medical examination for potential diseases. Also, this contribute to the lower in payment for those who engage in piecework job as more and more people are in this type of employment. For example, workers who work in a big factory producing identical objects or jobs in beauty industry.

In conclusion, science students are in short in many parts of the world and there are a few causes for this to happen. This will have negative effect on society in salary payment or causing further public anger from high public service fee.