It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be effects on society?

In this day and age, numerous nations are suffering from a shortage of students whose majors are science subjects. This may be attributed to several reasons and bring about alterations to society.

Considering possible elements, science, either actively or passively, attracts fewer learners. Firstly, those subjects such as Math, Physics, Chemistry, are widely assumed to be complex and impractical. Apparently, there is plenty of formulas and theories involved in the workload, which have little or even no realistic usage and appliances in life. Secondly, students who choose science face difficulties in securing a job due to uncontrollable factors including national situation of economics and politics. For example, a slight change in the political realm may lead to huge movement in the demand for science work, thus, affect the career pathway of science majors.

On the scope of society, lack of science students poses countless problems. First and most obvious, the given issue is associated with insufficient human resources on the scientific field, especially engineers and researchers. In comparison with other majors with greater workforce, it is understandable that science development is slower and less potential. Furthermore, the fewer students specialize, the fewer inventions are created. Consequently, without considerable innovations, the burning issues will remain unsolved, which puts the whole society to the risk of unimprovement. In addition, by no means would the world flourish today had it not been for significant scientific breakthroughs like computer or Internet.

To sum up, the declining number of students majoring in science is caused by plentiful factors and has huge impact on society as listed above.